top of page

22 poems for (not) falling in love


is fall the season of love? maybe. this topic has been on my heart lately as one of the most widely romanticized seasons of the year is back. I think it's important to recognize the situations that have felt like they could be love... but turned out to be something else entirely.


here's a catalogue of short moments. feelings from situations that just...weren't.

situations, still, that taught me to fall in love with new things.


what follows is poems full of pain and the boys my affection could have been spent on--and pictures of things I fell in love with instead.






1. strawberries


strawberries are easy to fall in love with

when they're sweet

but so easily avoided when

they spend too long on the shelf

are you my strawberries?

too ripe

too ripe



fall 2020: homemade bread and soup


2. brown eyes


I’ve loved brown eyes before but

yours seem to stay rooted in one spot

I try to show you a photograph

and turning back you’ve beat me to

my own irises

I wonder if they ever left




fall 2020: thrift store color palettes



3. honeycomb boy


honeycomb boy

you are sweet

but you sting

you buzz and you buzz

but you don't know a thing




fall 2021: light and shadow



4. not write


I don’t want to write about you anymore

I don’t

I came here to not write

to not write about you and the way I can’t stop

can’t stop seeing you

seeing words

they live in your eyes, skin, smile

and I don’t want to think them anymore



fall 2021: fresh spices



5. art history


trying to get some art history

on this paper when

all I can waste my ink on is your

sweet mellow softness that

sounds so good in my notes, on the pages

that span the kohl lined eyes of pharaohs

who couldn’t seem to get anything done either, still

it’s your presence that I caught in the elevator

between the blue lines and red

margins of my uncertainty so

tell me, picasso

when will I ever learn

I lost my mind

in a predynastic tomb

and my head in ancient painted pottery



fall 2020: oil paint



6. crossword


we were a crossword

black and white, we touch just once

should have used pencil



fall 2020: plants




7. small



I wish you would give me a reason to write about you

but you don’t. you never do. you don’t care and

there's nothing that I can tell you because just to

leave you alone forever and disappear into the

floorboards would be enough for you i am

one with the wax sealant that washes over

my cedar, the sapling I have grown and

chopped from a tree of my very own

vulnerability, from footsteps I watch

and know you will never give me

a reason to sneak out of the

woodwork and admit how

you make me want to

take an axe to my

insensibility and

to say just how

impossibly

small I am

when

I see

you





fall 2020: chalk



8. uninterested


now I know

I’m not as special as I’ve

been made to believe

and you’re

not as interested

as you seemed




fall 2020: tea for two



9. over


nothing is over, he said

nothing really “ends”

maybe he’s wrong if it’s all

in my head




fall 2021: farmer's markets



10. icky


I had an icky feeling when I saw him

I remembered that in a long line of others

there was once him


he said I haven’t seen you in four years

he said I was such an artist, that

he’d read my poems he said

they are quite good

I said I sent you something six months ago

he laughed

he said, feel free to send anything to me

any time


he wore three different patterns and

I said, I like your coat

he said he wasn’t a minimalist and

he asked me what to say to

the others he hadn’t seen in 4 years I said

whatever you want


he makes the word guffaw seem like a real live comic book drawing

but gently

he walked away and took style with him

but I saw him

glancing at my body as we talked because

men never change

not even after 4 years


I had an icky feeling when I saw

his wedding photos, pristinely bohemian

an hour before

he said anything




fall 2020: squash


11. pain


it sounds strange

coming out of my pen

I wouldn’t dare to say it

speak it, no

these lines they show

there’s times I loved you

and then there’s times I




fall 2020: photography


12. hatchet


for once

I don’t want to talk about it

I don’t want to think about it

I’m done

and it’s about time

to bury the damn hatchet



fall 2019: botanical gardens

13. circular logic


circular logic

round and round in a cycle of

oh no

and you’re the moon

pulling at the tide of my ocean

but I find it odd

how you only ever show up

on paper



fall 2021: yoga

14. fence


I fell off the fence

yesterday, in the rain

I made up my mind

as the storm rolled away


it took me a while

to figure it out

but it hurt more to sit

than to fall to the ground




fall 2020: sculpture


15. honesty


I don't find it sweet and

I don't find it cute

how you lie

when you know

that I won’t like the truth

honesty,

honestly

say what you mean

I've woken up but

you still won't come clean

it was poetic

the way I was trapped

but I'm no longer lost

my mind found the map

I know how I feel and

I know what I'm worth

I don't have more time

and I won't waste more words




fall 2019: writing letters


16. lying


I don't know how to tell you

that I know what I want

without boldfaced lying and,

while that is okay for some people

namely,

you

I am having trouble thinking

at all




fall 2018: local shops



17. brick


running into a brick wall

subtly screaming, yes

I am aware

that I'm an idiot

but so are you and man,

one day we are gonna get it

regret it

but now we shrug

because brick

is a good color on us



fall 2020: painting just to paint


18. physics

in loving memory

of all the poetry I lost

to physics

when I hid you

between the pages of tangential velocity

and centripetal acceleration

where f=ma had a home

with my feelings

and my sprawling script overflowed, embodying

solids, liquids,

and the plasma

of my thoughts


in loving memory

of my universal gravitation

(Fg=Gm1m2/r2)

to words

and the confusion I'll never get back







fall 2020: decor



19. bruises


bruises, I find

where once was just breath

bruises made bitter

and lighter

at length


bruises where footsteps

walked over my lungs

left the door open

and tracked in the mud


bruises where fingers

just skimmed shoulder blades

bruises where thumbprints once

whispered a name


bruises that never

were meant to be there

bruises for laughter

and seconds you cared


this can of worms

has been opened again, I’ve

barely been touched

but the bruises remain




fall 2021: meals together



20. black and white


it was always

black and white

with me,

with you

the way we moved

later

we would wonder

how it could've felt

in color




fall 2020: fruit for two



21. collateral damage


collateral damage, I

wasn't involved

it shouldn't have been

but somehow it was




fall 2021: the beauty of exhaustion


22. my mind


I think

I lost my mind

for you


I think

it's what

you wanted, too





falling forever: jesus














114 views

Recent Posts

See All

neutrals

Comments


bottom of page