top of page

heart of debris

just another silly love song

I will write for you

to the God who made the stars

but still talks to me in my room


you love me when no one sees

you love without apologies

when I go breaking your heart

and breaking my own


you love me when I don't hear

you love me when I don't see

what you've done to set me free

but once again this broken body breathes


just another silly love song

I will write for you

and I haven't been faithful

and I haven't told the truth


you love me when no one sees

you love without apologies

when I run the other way

when I leave you every day


you love me when I don't see

you love me when I don't agree

you take this heart of debris

and make this broken body breathe


it breathes, it breathes


why are we all so obsessed

with the love that we get from everyone else?


why do we need to be approved and ruined

over again when they don't love us too?


why do we keep reaching out, for a sound,

something loud, to keep us out of our own heads


why don't we listen to you

and the love you have proved is sword and nail proof?


we see the holes inside your hands

we shed a tear and then forget

what you've done for us


we feel empty and we turn

to something else but never learn

that we can never earn

your love


so here's another silly love song for you

from this silly human heart to a God that made the start

but is right here in my room







22 views

Recent Posts

See All

1件のコメント


Rebecca Fischer
Rebecca Fischer
2021年6月07日

Retweet

いいね!
bottom of page