top of page

standards

do you think my standards are too high?

I ask the wall

there is no reply


I live in a nutshell

and I wonder if I’ve done my best

I ask if I’ve lived too independently


I move through the hedge grounded path

collecting things as I go

a silver shears, a maple sapling, an orange kazoo

I ask if I’ll ever come up empty


every day I weave new metaphors

and I make things up and I laugh

every day I fall in love

I ask if that will ever stop


do you think my standards are too high?

I ask my wall, my art, my plants


do you think I’ve been too independent?

I ask my nutshell, my work, my wonder


do you think I’ll ever come up empty?

I ask the garden, the shears, the sapling, the kazoo


do you think I’ll ever stop falling in love?

I ask my metaphors, my mind, my laughter

I ask my God


they answer here and there

they answer through the wind and the shadows

they answer with the music and the birds and the black painted stage floor

He answers with the a sweetness that I will always want more of


the answer is no


g.c.s





27 views

Recent Posts

See All

neutrals

Comentarios


bottom of page